The campaign for genuine road safety
It is currently Tue May 14, 2024 18:08

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 17:54 
Friend of Safe Speed
Friend of Safe Speed

I've recently had the following e-mail to my website from a lorry driver:

Quote:
Hi, I am a hgv driver and today I have been on a speed awareness course due to a mistake of mine. On reading some of your FAQs I noticed the one about what is the speed limit of an hgv if on a single carraigeway road the signs say 50mph. I have always thought that your answer was correct in that the lesser of the two, in this case the national speed limit of 40mph should apply. The driving instructor on the course said that the national speed limit only applies when the national speed limit sign is shown and therefore if a 50mph sign is shown then the speed limit is 50mph, likewise 60mph on a single or dual-carraigeway also applies. My query with him was one of safety but he said they only put these speed limits in force on such roads where it is safe to do so and to create all traffic moving at the same speed fluently. Personally I don't think I would like to do it just to find out if I can get caught or not.Thanks.

It is very worrying that this misinformation is being perpetuated by an official representative - it could lead to someone unwittingly getting points on their licence.

I have asked him if he is prepared to say in which area this was.

Any views expressed in this post are personal opinions and may not represent the views of Safe Speed

Profile Send private message  

PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2012 09:32 
Site Admin

Sorry missed this before ... yes it is most worrying as it does create a confusing situation.
It gets worse too when reading this : http://metricviews.org.uk/2011/01/minis ... ed-limits/
(A bit old 07, but possibly still current?)
Stats here and the Free flowing speed here.