Safe Speed Forums

The campaign for genuine road safety
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 05:58

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 13:04 
User

Hello all, first post. I googled "insurance motorcycle filtering" and came across this website so thought I would ask your opinions on my situation at the moment.

I am a young driver, 21 years old and having driven for 1 year 11 months (typically, not quite out of my prohbationary period). I have a comlpetely clean license with an unmodified car which I have owned for 18 months.

Last Tuesday (23) at approx 0900 I had a collision with a girl on a moped on the A40.

Traffic was moving at approximately 25-30 miles per hour, which was very heavy. I was driving in the middle lane of 3 lanes at that point, it was near Hillingdon which is a national speed limit section of the road.

Traffic to my outside lane (Driver side) was starting to speed up, so I presumed that the disruption ahead was due to the next exit of the A40 (uxbridge) and therefore decided to pull into the outside lane. I indicated and checked my mirrors. The car directly behind me was a Citroen Picasso (quite tall) and the car to the outside was an audi. Behind the audi was a large white van.

As I started to pull across which was 3-4 seconds after indication, I checked the mirrors once again and everything still appeared clear. I went to pull out and about 70% of the way through my manouvre a moped came up my outside, she did not react to my driving and clear indication and she was totally blind to me as she was filtering between traffic.

I approximate her speed to have been 40-45MPH due to the speed in which she came up on me. The impact was against my driver side door and driver side front wing/ wing mirror. I do not know the damage to her moped.

I have been searching around and found the following documentation:
http://www.motorcycling-uk.com/training ... tering.htm