Safe Speed Forums

The campaign for genuine road safety
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 09:37

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: new guy question?
PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 23:03 
New User
New User

hi all new lad here im a lorry driver and recently went threw a red light camera traffic light with a 45 foot tri axle trailer as it turn amber and when i say this i mean i actually slowed to around 10-15mph anticipating it to change but it never did i was pretty much physically on the stop line before it changed from green to amber however im pretty sure i got flashed still. now ive researched it and had mixed info half say i need my full artic threw or its a ticket i find this very extreme with a 45foot trailer and other say as long as the front of my unit is well threw which it defo will of been then i will still recieve a flash from the trailer wheels but the police wont take action when they look at the photo and see the circumstances, also if i have got caught how long will it take for me to recieve the nip as it was obviously a company vehicle. cheers

Profile Send private message  

Post subject: Re: new guy question?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 09:27 
Gold Member
Gold Member

I think I’m right in saying they’re all forward facing; at least the ones I see are. So, if I’m right, it’s all about where your 'nose' is across the lights. It would be very unreasonable, to say the least, if it monitored when your rear end went across. Every PSV & HGV would be done at some point sooner or later if that was the case.

I have found them to be pretty good in that I have pulled up, thinking I may get done, and vehicles have past me over the lights without being flashed. In other words they are very lenient and in my experience if you do get flashed you have literally got to be going over both sets of lights on red; which is a very good piece of enforcement IMO. (Not often I agree with ‘dumb’ automatically-activated traffic furniture :D ).