The campaign for genuine road safety
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 05:56

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Appropriate speed...
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 02:33 
Site Admin

The contribution to overall risk of appropriate speed is zero

Discuss.

As a driver I believe it absolutely. So long as my speed is appropriate I will ALWAYS be able to stop in time.

Profile Send private message  

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 02:39 
Friend of Safe Speed
Friend of Safe Speed

The obvious question: is what you believe to be an appropriate speed really the appropriate speed for a given environment?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 02:44 
Site Admin

smeggy wrote:
The obvious question: is what you believe to be an appropriate speed really the appropriate speed for a given environment?

Sometimes not - but I'm looking for the baseline. Here it is again in different words:

If a speed causes a risk it cannot be appropriate. (now it's looking more like a definition of appropriate speed, and it's becoming axiomatic.)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 03:04 
Friend of Safe Speed
Friend of Safe Speed

Thinking aloud: ‘causes a risk’ could be open to interpretation.

A level of speed in itself causing a risk (cannot stop in the distance one would reasonably expect to be clear, or impeding the necessary and reasonable judgement of others (pedestrians)) is definitely inappropriate

However, we know that any speed is dangerous if someone is stupid enough, but here it’s the stupidity, not the speed, that’s causing the risk so this shouldn’t count.

How about: If a speed causes an unreasonable risk it cannot be appropriate ?

(’reasonable’ accounting for unavoidable stupidity)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2006 03:39 
Friend of Safe Speed
Friend of Safe Speed